Naughty or Nice

holly1

 

Christmas is right around the corner. During this time, two classic literary characters famous for their Christmas exploits come to mind, The Grinch and Ebenezer Scrooge.

 

I could go for hours comparing and contrasting the different journeys and qualities of these two characters, but I’d rather focus on their one glaring similarity. They both go from naughty to nice. I know the point of Dickens’ and Dr. Seuss’ books revolves around a heart-warming change for the better  for Ebenezer and The Grinch; yet, the more I think about them, the more I realize that I like the two characters more at the beginning of their story than at the end.

 

Classic Scrooge.

Classic Scrooge.

 

While I love the message of both A Christmas Carol and The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, I think the villainous aspects of the main characters are what make the story memorable and lasting.  If you call someone a grinch  or a scrooge they’ll know you’re associating them with a person who is mean-spirited and unfriendly. So what aspects of  the characters truly stay with us?

 

Am I alone in my like for the miserly Scrooge and the fiendish Grinch?

 

Humbug to all!

Humbug to all!

 

Leave a comment