The Writer at Work

wwe

 

While reading the essay “Why Write” by John Updike, I came across the following passage where Gustave Flaubert sums up the writing experience:

 

Sometimes, when I am empty, when words don’t come, when I find I haven’t written a single sentence after scribbling whole pages, I collapse on my couch and lie there dazed, bogged in a swamp of despair, hating myself and blaming myself for this demented pride which makes me pant after a chimera.

A quarter of an hour later everything changes; my heart is pounding with joy. Last Wednesday I had to get up and fetch my handkerchief; tears were streaming down my face. I had been moved by my own writing; the emotion I had conceived, the phrase that rendered it, and satisfaction of having found the phrase – all were causing me to experience the most exquisite pleasure.”

 

Do you think Flaubert got it right?

Leave a Reply

