Do You Go On Genre Sprees?

genre

 

I can sum up most of my January reading in one word… nonfiction. I started the month reading nonfiction and it seems like I’m going to finish January reading nonfiction, and no one is more shocked than me.

 

It’s not that I don’t enjoy reading nonfiction, it’s just that there are many great genres to choose from, I can’t imagine someone choosing to read one particular type back to back to back. Yet, I can’t change gears out of nonfiction. Even when I tried to start a fiction book that I was looking forward to reading, I found myself having trouble getting into it.

 

So, I stopped resisting and decided to lean into the curve and embrace my sudden yen for nonfiction. Some people might call it a reading rut but that sounds negative and I’m enjoying myself too much to be negative. Genre spree has a little more whimsy and a lot more character.

 

Have any of you gone on a genre sprees? Mine is pretty broad but how specific have you gotten. Just gothic novels? Young Adult novels? Speculative steampunk? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

