Book Series That Ended in 2014


Finishing the first book in a series is exhilarating and often causes a panic if you’re left waiting months for the next book to come out. However, finishing the last book in a series is a different feeling all together. There’s this happiness of finally knowing the ending and a sadness that the stories are done.

So in looking back at 2014, I want to remember some of the notable book series that have ended.


Mortal Instruments

Cassandra Clare


6 books

(March 27, 2007-May 27, 2014)

City of Bones, City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, City of Heavenly Fire

Clary’s life changes forever after her mother is kidnapped and it’s revealed that she and her mother are shadowhunters. She must fight  vampires, werewolves, and demons and somehow save her mother all while discovering her talents.



The Hybrid Chronicles

Kat Zhang


3 Books

(September 18, 2012 – September 16, 2014)

What’s Left of Me, Once We Were, Echoes of Us

In a world where everyone starts as two souls woven together in one body, Eva and Addie face an unusual difficulty. One of them isn’t fading away. People like them, hybrids, are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. But can there be some way for both of them to live together?



The Heroes of Olympus

Rick Riordan


5 Books

(October 12, 2010 – October 7, 2014)

The Lost Hero, The Son of Neptune, The Mark of Athena, The House of Hades, The Blood of Olympus

But to truly start this series read the Percy Jackson series first:

The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titan’s Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, The Last Olympian

The Heroes of Olympus focuses on a prophecy, introduced in The Last Olympian (the final book in the Percy Jackson series), that foretold that seven demigods would unite to protect the world from the earth goddess Gaea.



House of Night

P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

series 4

12 books

(May 1, 2007 – October 14, 2014)

Marked, Betrayed, Chosen, Untamed, Hunted, Tempted, Burned, Awakened, Destined, Hidden, Revealed, Redeemed

House of Night is a series of vampire-themed fantasy novels. Zoey Redbird is a teenager and a fledgling vampyre that must attend the House of Night boarding school, but she is no average fledgling. She has been marked by the vampyre Goddess Nyx and has special powers.



Pretty Little Liars

Sara Shepard


16 Books

(October 1st 2006 – December 2nd 2014)

Pretty Little Liars, Flawless, Perfect, Unbelievable, Wicked, Killer, Heartless, Wanted, Twisted, Ruthless, Stunning, Burned, Crushed, Deadly, Toxic, Vicious

Pretty Little Liars begins with four girls Spencer, Hanna, Aria, and Emily whose clique changes  after the disappearance of Alison. Soon after, they begin receiving messages and threats from the mysterious “A” who somehow knows all their secrets.



Under the Never Sky

Veronica Rossi


3 Books

(December 4, 2012 -Dec 23, 2014)

Under the Never Sky, Through the Ever Night, Into the Still Blue

Aria has been exiled from Reverie and banished to live in a technologically devoid wasteland known as the Death Shop.  There she meets an outsider named Perry, and the two  must work together if they hope to survive.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s