18 Writers Worries

I recently started some creative writing projects after a lot of non-fiction work and instantly was drawn back into some quirks that come with the territory. The following is a list of some of those unique issues that worry writers. I’m sure  some of you have experienced these issues and if you think of any others please share them in the comments below.

 

1) Having too many ideas to write at once

k2

 

2) Mourning the death of a character you killed off

k3

 

3) Enjoying the death of a character you killed off a little too much

K4

 

4) When an idea you have becomes a book and it’s fabulous

k7

Why?

 

5) When an idea you have becomes a book and it’s terrible

Don't ruin my story. You wouldn't like me when you ruin my story.

Don’t ruin my story. You wouldn’t like me when you ruin my story.

 

6) Having all the time in the world and writer’s block

k1

 

7) Having no time and all the ideas in the world

k6

 

8) That moment when your head hits the pillow and all your ideas come together

 

9) Telling someone the start of your story when you don’t have an ending (Worse idea ever!)

k8

Is it done now? How about now?

 

10) Having a beginning and an end but nothing else in between

k13

 

11) People going through your browser history and seeing baby name sites

k10

 

12) People going through your browser history and seeing “what’s the best way to get away with murder” sites

k11

 

13) Shushing someone you’re having a conversation with because you might get an idea by people watching a loud talking couple

k14

 

14) Hurting yourself badly and thinking about how to describe the pain you feel and save it for later use

Don't sedate me until I get my notebook.

Please don’t sedate me until I get my notebook.

 

15) Having your writing change from brilliant to undecipherable as it goes from brain to page

k16

 

16) People thinking you’re talking to yourself in public when you’re creating dialogue

Only you understand me.

Only you understand me.

 

17) A simple fact hunt turning into an hour long research expedition

Finally I can finish this sentence.

Finally I can finish this sentence.

 

18) Treating your characters like dozens of imaginary friends you can hang out with

k18 copy

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: 18 Reader Resolutions | onepagecloser

Leave a Reply

